Autodesk Ad for Ted 2008


What an inspirational video, and advertisement at that. I was on a TED talks marathon today, catching up on some great new speakers and I noticed this Autodesk Ad at the end of a lot of clips. Ever since getting my DVR, i have very little patience for Ads but the music and message were very inspiring and after the talks were over, I went looking for this clip. It’s especially relevant for me since I’m working on a passion of mine as we speak, trying to create a new product and I love seeing messages like the one in the ad above.

Hope you are similarly inspired.

8 responses to “Autodesk Ad for Ted 2008

  1. DO you know what the music is in this ad???

  2. From this URL, I believe it’s the Kronos Quartet but I can’t be positive.

    http://jueseph.com/blog/2008/05/03/still-addicted-to-ted-videos/

    Apparently, we aren’t the only ones addicted to this video.

    I tried a little experiment where I just listened to the music today and found it just as inspirational without the video. I’m guessing (since I’m no neuroscientist) that having watched this video multiple times, I’ve probably embedded the feeling of inspiration and hope which gets triggered through the music. Doesn’t seem to work in reverse with just the video however.

  3. No, unfortunately it’s not the Kronos…I just thought the style was similar to the sort of minimalist thing that Philip Glass might write and have the Kronos perform. As far as I can tell the music seems to have been composed and performed in-house at Autodesk, which is what they did with the music in the second ad.

    Ditto on the addiction to TED videos. I was actually a recovering addict until I saw your blog, and now I’m watching them again…thanks? Anyway, great blog, and I’ll keep you posted if I manage to track down that music.

  4. Actually everyone, this music comes from APM Music’s library. While I personally love Philip Glass and Kronos Quartet (have seen them perform 3x!), I am proud to say this stylistically similar track is part of our quirky Cosines library from France. It’s composed by Jerome Coullet, called “Cyclorythmique”, and you can hear it by clicking here – http://www.apmmusic.com/myapm/main.php?i=24347&k=f85ac96813ea9cb16. We are so happy Remedy Editorial licensed it for this inspiring spot!

  5. Actually everyone, this music comes from APM Music’s library. While I personally love Philip Glass and Kronos Quartet (have seen them perform 3x!), I am proud to say this stylistically similar track is part of our quirky Kosinus library from France. It’s composed by Jerome Coullet, called “Cyclorythmique”, and you can hear it by clicking here – http://www.apmmusic.com/myapm/main.php?i=24347&k=f85ac96813ea9cb16. We are so happy Remedy Editorial licensed it for this inspiring spot!

  6. I, too, am addicted to both TED Talks and the music in this ad. Thanks for the link, Sharon.

    Sri, if you’re still blogging, the embedded video link to the ad on this post is broken, FYI.

    - Nate

  7. It only just occurred to me to google ‘autodesk advert music’ – I’ve been rerunning the TED videos all afternoon. And I fell down the ‘philip Glass’ red herring trail first – funny. Thanks for the link :)

  8. Pingback: Jue's Blog » TED video ad puzzler redux

Leave a Reply

