Planning for the future

I just got back from my international business midterm. I got to say that this is definitely one of the most exciting classes I’ve taken. It has given me all sorts of knowledge on international trade theories and insight into global economies that I would have never had. In other words, I no longer have to be completely ignorant of what’s happening in the world and can at least understand the basics.

So coming out of class, I decide to continue reading the textbook by Charles hill (yes, I am a nerd) and there was a short case study on Nokia’s dominance in the wireless industry. Basically, the reason why Nokia kicks butt is that their environment forced them to develop wireless capabilities sooner and faster than the rest of the world. Apparently, the book says, if you want to understand the future of Cellphones, go to Finland.

Now, I know Nokia is good, but I would not have thought of the Scandinavian countries as being the leading edge of cell phone usage. I would have picked South Korea instead buy It shows how little I know.

A friend of mine is working a project for a large us cellphone company about the future of Cellphones. If you are reading this, get thee to Finland before you do anything else.

Leave a Reply

